RSS

Random Thoughts…

06 Feb

God is great! Winter in Kolkata was fabulous this time! Mercury dropped to many degrees below unlike the earlier years, and Kolkatans shivered, enjoyed and wore the thickest of woolens, much to their own disbelief!   January was almost freezing and it was lovely!

Winter is the best time to enjoy, watch movies, eat out, travel, work out and what not! Being a winter person, I can withstand even the coldest of climes and absolutely hate the idea of the approaching summers and sweltering heat. I wonder why the summer months are so prolonged! The city Met office has already predicted 2010 to be the hottest year in the recent times!

A host of good movies released during winter…3 Idiots, Sherlock Holmes, Avatar, Ishqiya, and some more sensible ones which I do not remember, and I was fortunate to watch some of them. Oh yes! I even had the chance to catch up with some nice and interesting titles on DVD.

The best charm of the city’s winter is undeniably the International Kolkata Book Fair, which was at its 34th year, drawing crowds young and old from all walks of life, including foreign tourists. This year the focal theme being Mexico, bookworms even had the opportunity of relishing tasty Mexican delicacies, prepared instantly by experienced Mexican chefs. I am missing this event for years now; not that I am lazy or something, but simply due to lack of time. I feel it is a great loss for a self-confessed book-lover like me. But I am already looking forward to next year and buy some good books.

Last but not the least, ” My Name is Khan” is about to release and I am impatiently waiting to catch the earliest show. Lots of unwanted and baseless controversies and news stories are circling around SRK and the film, but then, who cares? We, the die-hard admirers of Shahrukh are anticipating a hit and the magic of Kajol and Shahrukh to work again on screen! Kudos to SRK and My Name is Khan!!! Below is an excerpt from the much-awaited film…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 6, 2010 in Films, personal thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
